Thursday, March 29, 2007

it's eleven now so make every second count

Unlike his last full length Life Is Full Of Possibilites, Dntel’s new record, Dumb Luck, features vocal on every track... a different vocalist for each track... oh wait, and not just any vocalists either... James Tamborello managed to gather some of his coolest friends to help him out with the record: Grizzly Bear, Jenny Lewis, Fog, and Conor Oberst, just to name a few. In fact, "Dumb Luck", the title track and first track on the record is the only "solo" track on the album... however, it is also one of the best songs as well. "Dumb Luck" is the most fitting song to open the record; it empties out your surrounding while it creates this lethargic dream-like mood. That is exactly how the rest of the record feels. There are only two settings to get your absolute maximum experience with Dumb Luck: one, listen to it while you walk through the city streets (preferably during early morning or late at night... when there are less people on the streets); two, listen to it in an enclosed environment like your bedroom... turn the volume up, drop everything you're doing, and just lie in your bed. Dumb Luck features a perfect mixture of minimal ambient/techno techniques with indie pop style, this is surely Dntel’s masterpiece!

Dumb Luck [super-wicked-cool song]
To A Fault (feat. Grizzly Bear)
Roll On (feat. Jenny Lewis) [wicked-cool song]
Natural Resources (feat. Fog) [wicked-cool song]
Breakfast In Bed (feat. Conor Oberst) [wicked-cool song]
***files have expired, reload upon request

Dumb Luck comes out on April 24, you can pre-order it here

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

yo the most wicked cool song is the grizzly bear one, I find the conor obberst one/jimmy tambo ones rather bland. I like the jenny lewis one though